Lent

To give up. To sacrifice.

I gave up Facebook for a month.

I sacrificed ten minutes every morning to read His Word.

All in the hopes of growing closer to God.

I am not an exception. I’ve uttered the words more often than I’ve actually done it. But this time I wish to not make it about myself. To not focus on the pleasures that I am giving up or sacrificing. Rather, I am laying down my life at the foot of the cross like I always said I would but never did.

I can’t give up or sacrifice what was never really mine to begin with. It belonged to the world.

I write this brief post because I want my friends and family to keep me accountable because I am human and thus, flawed in every way. I will be tempted almost always to give in, to surround to my greed, selfishness, and indulgences.

Until April 2nd, I won’t be doing a lot of things that I used to love doing. Emphasis on used to because now what I love to do has less to do with me than it has to do with Him.

I’m scared but hopeful of what the next 47 days will hold for me.

One comment

Leave a Reply

