*Yi-Fen Chou, What’s Good?

For those whose name are almost always butchered when pronounced out loud for the first time:

*The title is from a Jezebel article which I highly recommend as reading material for a study break. 

A white man, Michael Derrick Hudson, used a Chinese girl’s name, Yi-Fen Chou, to get his poem published. I was about to elaborate on the topic but Jenny Zhang over at Buzzfeed just killed it with her piece.

The take-away point is this: a white man was rejected 40 times for his shitty poem so he decided to submit it under a Chinese pseudonym and it actually worked. He was trying to prove that talented white poets like him are almost always beat out by people of color poets. In other words, he’s throwing a tantrum because his white privileges were being threatened.

Dear Michael Derrick Hudson, I hope you have Google alerts turned on because I want you to fully realize your wretchedness. I had to change to my Korean name to a white name so I could assimilate into American culture. You changed your name so you could hijack the system of affirmative action WHICH IS ACTUALLY WONDERFUL UNTIL JERKS LIKE YOU DECIDE TO ABUSE IT.

Am I making sense? I changed my name for your convenience. You changed your name for your own convenience. I changed my name so I could be less of a hyphenated American. You changed your name so you could have an “edge.” We both changed our names, but only one is actually white and a “true American.” At the end of day, I’m a Korean-American named Sam. You are a white American named Michael Derrick Hudson who can choose to lose the hyphen. I can’t. It will always separate me from you

For those who are seen as terrorists because of the never wavering ignorance of the U.S.:

“Our enemy now is Islamic terrorism, and these people are coming from a country filled with Islamic terrorists,” said Representative Peter T. King, Republican of New York. “We don’t want another Boston Marathon bombing situation.”

The above quote is from a NYT article about the decision made by the Obama administration to take in 10,000 Syrians in the following year.

I hate to break it to you but 10,000 is next to nothing compared to Germany who has taken in hundreds of thousands (but have stopped) of refuges.

I don’t know specifics about U.S. involvement in foreign affairs, but I have gathered that over the years, we’ve made decisions which have negatively impacted the people of the countries that we invade  help.

Just Google ‘American history’ and I’m sure you’ll find an instance of when we imposed our rule on a developing country, bled them dry, then retreated when matters got out of hand.

Eh. Maybe I’m wrong. Argue with me. Show me facts. All I have to show you is the countless streams of refugees who are fleeing war torn countries. I probably don’t know what I’m talking about since politics are “complicated” and we have to make “hard decisions” for the sake of “our people.”

Oh, the quotations are there to emphasize my sarcastic tone of voice when typing those phrases. When reading out loud, make sure to really bring out the sarcasm of the ‘our’ in “our people.” That way you’re implicitly acknowledging that ‘our’ is not all-encompassing. It’s WASP-encompassing.

For those who believe in reverse racism:

Check out this scene from the film Dear White People.

giphy

giphy (1)

giphy (2)Read what Zeba Blay has to say on the matter. I won’t elaborate because a) I accidentally deleted this post right before I was about to submit it and b) it took me way too long to include those gifs for me detract attention with my useless words.

For those who’ve ever felt invisible:

I used to be invisible. As long as I stood or sat there quietly, I would go unnoticed. People would look right past me. They wouldn’t remember me. I enjoyed invisibility because I could avoid situations that made me uncomfortable.

But I don’t think uncomfortable captures what I’m trying to convey. I wanted to avoid being put on the spot. Avoid feeling as if a giant spotlight was shining on me. Avoid struggling to trudge through my empty brain for a perfect reaction, utterance, or movement. Avoid criticizing myself afterwards for my “bad” response. Avoid comparing myself to others and coming to the conclusion that I am unworthy. Avoid interacting with people who I wanted to impress. Avoid disappointing anyone with my lack of athleticism, smarts, humour, whatever.

I wanted to avoid the pressures of social interactions that burdened me every moment that I became visible.

I often describe myself as shy, but I think it was much more than that. I can’t explain it to you because it’s still just a feeling in my heart and a handful of memories in my mind.

I hid so I could be comfortable and when I was yanked out of my hiding place, it was torture and worth crying over.

For those with dental insurance:

Be grateful.

Leave a Reply

