Scared

Today I discovered the feeling wheel and something clicked inside of me. As my advisor traced her finger from overwhelmed to anxious to scared, I began to understand. I almost cried right there and then because all I could think was “I’m scared and I don’t know why. I’m scared and I want to be comforted. But I don’t know why.”

I may not know who, why, or what I am scared of, but at least I know

I am scared

I am anxious.

I am overwhelmed.

And my feelings are valid and real and heavy to carry and easy to tuck away.

Tomorrow I pray to God that I am one step closer towards the opposite feeling of overwhelmed– relaxed, content, peaceful

Where is my peace?

Leave a Reply

